About Us


The United Nations and Malawi

The United Nations is an international organisation founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights. Since its inception the membership of the Organization has grown to 193 States.

Due to its unique international character, and the powers vested in its founding Charter, the Organization can take action on a wide range of issues, and provide a forum for its 193 Member States to express their views, through the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council and other bodies and committees. The work of the United Nations reaches every corner of the globe.

In Malawi, the United Nations contributes to the Government of Malawi’s development objectives by supporting investment in Malawi’s primary asset, her people, and by strengthening the management and accountability systems that are needed to ensure that growth benefits every citizen, including women, children, the very poor and the most vulnerable.

The UN Country Team in Malawi, representing both resident and non-resident UN agencies, Funds and Programmes, ensures that the United Nations’ collective human, technical and financial resources are marshalled and deployed in the most effective and efficient manner under the leadership of the Government of Malawi.

In Malawi, the United Nations is committed to enhancing the performance and impact of the UN system in contributing to the development of Malawi. Under the “Delivering As One” concept, the UN system seeks to further strengthen the management and coordination of UN activities so that they can make an even more effective contribution to the achievement of internationally agreed development goals, including the Millennium Development Goals MDGs).

UN Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF)

To this end, the UN system in Malawi has developed an action programme known as the United Nations Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF) for the period 2012 to 2016 (extended to end of 2018). The Framework is designed to work in alignment to the national development priorities of Malawi. The value the UN adds to development progress in Malawi is its expertise in analysing issues, its advocacy role in promoting the MDGs and its commitment to a pro-poor agenda.

The new UN Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF) 2012-2016 defines areas of development cooperation between the Government of Malawi and the UN.

It sets out specific outcomes that the United Nations and the Government of Malawi together aim to achieve by 2016. It seeks to ensure the people of Malawi will receive the fullest value of their partnership with the UN under national leadership, attain the national development targets set for the country by the Government of Malawi, and achieve so far as is practical and reasonable, by 2016, the MDGs.

The UN in Malawi, in collaboration with the Government of Malawi, are committed to working together in full accountability to the people of Malawi and with the development community for the eradication of poverty and ensuring the equitable development of Malawi.

The UN has 4 main purposes

  • To keep peace throughout the world;
  • To develop friendly relations among nations;
  • To help nations work together to improve the lives of poor people, to conquer hunger, disease and illiteracy, and to encourage respect for each other’s rights and freedoms;
  • To be a centre for harmonizing the actions of nations to achieve these goals.

Guiding Principles behind the UNDAF are:

  • The UN reform process and the mandate for system-wide coherence;
  • The targets for the fulfillment of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs);
  • National ownership of country programming and alignment with national development priorities;
  • Adherence to UN pro-poor agenda and support to develop the capacity for good governance.